Digital Remote Voting Standards Working Group

Digital remote voting is already available in some form to military and overseas voters in 31 states and to disabled voters in 8 states, but there are currently no national standards for security and to protect the anonymity of voters’ ballots. Over 330 jurisdictions in 8 states used mobile voting in 2020 during the November federal election.

The Digital Remote Voting Standards Working Group (SWG) is a group of academic researchers, election administrators, cryptographers, and cybersecurity and election security experts who are rigorously assessing the risks and opportunities associated with digital remote voting. The group will determine the feasibility of technical and implementation standards that would enable the safe and secure remote return of digital ballots, develop those standards, and, where possible, outline the technologies necessary to meet the standards. As part of CSP’s mission to address critical global risks and public policy problems and create actionable solutions for policymakers, the working group will focus on evaluating new methods to make voting more accessible, resilient, and secure for all Americans.

The first meeting took place on August 31, 2021.

Group Members, Partial List

  • Ben Adida
  • Michelle Bishop
  • Allie Bones, Assistant Secretary of State
  • Josh Benaloh
  • Henry E. Brady, Professor, Goldman School of Public Policy, UC Berkeley
  • Jeremy Epstein
  • Anthony Fowler, Professor, Harris School of Public Policy, University of Chicago
  • Michael Frias, Chief Executive Officer, Catalist
  • Mike Garcia, Mike G Consulting
  • Matt Masterson
  • Amber McReynolds
  • Maurice Turner, Cybersecurity Fellow, Alliance for Securing Democracy at the German Marshall Fund of the United States
  • Mark Weatherford